- This event has passed.
Walking Tour of Westerwood
July 10 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Beginning with the magnificent neoclassical Double Oaks Bed & Breakfast at 204 North Mendenhall Street, this tour will weave the history of Westerwood from the late nineteenth century to the present. Built on a hill just a west of Greensboro’s village center, the area was first developed in the 1890s as the estate of B. H. Merrimon. His grand home, known as The Cedars, was among Greensboro’s most exuberant Queen Anne houses. It stood until the 1960s. Property surrounding The Cedars was developed first as the Highlands, then rebranded as Oakwood Park, before being rechristened as Westerwood in 1919. Westerwood’s developer was the Greensboro real estate promoter-extraordinaire Arthur Kirby Moore, who used public contests and media to promote his subdivision. Sales were brisk throughout the Roaring Twenties, and examples of heartachingly charming bungalows can be seen lining the streets of the neighborhood.
Now in our 15th season of tours, Preservation Greensboro’s Urban Guide Rebecca Lowe will provide insights and anecdotal stories about B. H. Merrimon, A. K. Moore, and other personalities that led to the development of Westerwood as one of the Gate City’s star-neighborhoods. Tours will take 60-75 minutes depending on questions. Cancelled in case of rain. Wear comfortable shoes! This event is FREE. Meet in one the sidewalk in front of the Double Oaks (Bed & Breakfast) at 204 North Mendenhall Street.