Rich History, Classic Style
Octagonal buildings were architectural curiosities in the mid-nineteenth century, when promoters assured that their shape would be cheaper to build and more efficient to use than traditional buildings. The fad must have been enough to capture the eye of its builder, Governor John Motley Morehead. Based on material evidence, he had the octagonal structure constructed sometime between 1855 and 1866.
When restoration of Blandwood began in the 1960’s, the original Carriage House was in poor structural condition. Though the old Carriage House was razed in 1967, the original cupola was carefully removed for preservation.
The new Carriage House was constructed in partnership with the Junior League of Greensboro. Through the skillful eye of Greensboro architect Ed Loewenstein, the facility was reconstructed to include a warming kitchen, meeting space, and lavatories below the grand pavilion space. The cupola from the original Carriage House was restored and repositioned atop of the building that celebrated a Grand Opening in March 1970. So pleased was the community with the project that the cupola served as the logo for Preservation Greensboro through much of the 1970s.
Today, the facility is available to the public for social events, meetings, and seminars thus returning Blandwood Mansion as an elegant civic center. Countless weddings, fundraisers, workshops, political rallies, and receptions have been enjoyed within this unique building. It remains a treasure for North Carolina, where visitors can enjoy the charm of Blandwood and its gardens, Guilford County’s only National Historic Landmark building!