The Cannaday-Parker House was constructed on a tract of land in College Hill subdivided around 1892 by Leonard and Laura Ellen Morse. The Morse Tract was a small subdivision that resulted in the creation of Carr Street and included the houses at 922 Carr Street as well as the home at 216 South Mendenhall. This charming one-story Queen Anne style cottage was built around 1895. Interesting period features of this home include a charming shingled dormer window with stained glass, bay windows, wooden spandrels, and an elaborate porch sporting turned wood supports and drop finials. The exterior restoration shows the original paint colors and placement which UNCG design students authenticated by carefully revealing the earliest paint layers. Interior details of the asymmetrical-center-hall plan include early mantels, corner-block trim, and stained glass windows.
Cinderella and James Cannaday purchased the lot in 1895 and likely had the house built just after they completed their home next door at 922 Carr Street. James was an engineer with the railroad, but he had an eye for real estate investment throughout the city. In 1899 the Cannadays rented the cottage to Harry Stone, a building contractor, and a year later it was leased by Mittie Wood, a widowed mother of six children. In 1900 the Cannadays sold their larger home and moved into the smaller cottage. Just a few years later, the couple sold the property to J. W. Parker but remained in the home as renters through 1910. While living in this home, James took a position of vice president of Central Hardware and Mantel Co, a supplier of mantels, tiles, grates and builder’s hardware.
For the next fifty years the house was primarily a rental property, owned most of that time by the Ferguson family, who lived next door at 922 Carr Street. Among the renters were Addie and Reuel Sink, captain of the nearby West End Hose Company. From 1971 until 1990 the house was owned by Agnes and Anthony Bengel, remembered as being instrumental in early preservation efforts in College Hill in the late 1970s. In 1991, homeowner Cheryl Cranford Kaufman returned the original colors to the exterior of the house. Current owners Kate and Don Gaston have lived in the home since 2005. The 117-year-old house continues to be a College Hill favorite for its eye-catching colors and charming details.
On May 18-19, Preservation Greensboro’s Third Annual Tour of Historic Homes and Gardens will feature a total of ten vintage homes of the College Hill neighborhood. Plan to spend the weekend touring stunning homes of the nineteenth century that highlight interesting architecture, design ideas, and local history! Advanced tickets will be available for purchase after April 20th. Group tickets of ten or more are available for $15 per ticket. Exclusive Patron Passes are also available.
Stay tuned to our website, this blog and our Facebook page for additional information!
You must be logged in to post a comment.